Subject Guide: Science & Technology

Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society (Salem History) - free for Chelmsford residents

Online access to Salem Press’ Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society, exploring how mathematics affects our daily lives in sociological, economic, and historical perspectives. The Salem History database also searches Encyclopedia of American Immigration, Great Lives from History: Inventors and Inventions, and Milestone Documents in World History. 

Interactive Science - free statewide

Gale Interactive: Science is a highly visual online learning tool that takes visual-spatial learning to the next level by bringing the science lab online. High-value, multi-media digital content selected from authoritative classroom resources is paired with interactive 3D models to deliver a virtual laboratory simulation experience for students in middle school and high school grades. 

Niche Academy: Online Learning - free anywhere

Tutorials created by staff in Chelmsford and libraries across the country, focusing on educational topics across a variety of subjects: business, finance, evaluating online information, health, research skills, and more. Click into any tutorial for a step-by-step guide, with text, graphic, and video instructions. We also take suggestions for new tutorials! 

Niche Academy: Technology Learning - free anywhere

Tutorials created by staff in Chelmsford and libraries across the country, focusing on technology and research topics. Click into any tutorial for a step-by-step guide, with text, graphic, and video instructions, on topics such as using Microsoft Word, using Instragram, researching your family’s genealogy, buying a new computer, and more. We also take suggestions for new tutorials! 

Science Database - free statewide

College-level science research including 7.3 million full text articles from over 1,600 sources. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and engineering literature. 

Citizen Science: An official government website designed to accelerate the use of crowdsourcing and citizen science across the U.S. government. The site provides a portal to a catalog of federally supported citizen science projects and a toolkit to assist federal practitioners among other resources. 

Code Academy – Learn to code, interactively, for free online 

Digital Learn - Quick and easy online courses for basic technology understanding.

eLife – An open-access journal that publishes promising research in the life and biomedical science fields 

The Feynman Lectures on Physics – These famous lectures are available for free online. 

Frontiers – A community-rooted, open access research publisher 

GCF Aprende Libre - Aquí encontrarás clases sobre tecnología, habilidades laborales, idiomas y más en español.

GCF LearnFree – Self-paced tutorials for learning Everyday Life skills, Basic Math, Computer Programs, Mobile Apps, Reading, and much more 

Initiative for Digital Public Infrastructure - This research center based at UMass-Amherst studies the technology all around us and considers what it might look like if our digital spaces were constructed for the public good.

NASA Pubspace – Easy public access to peer-reviewed papers resulting from NASA-funded research. Full-text and available online 

San Jose Public Library Virtual Privacy lab – Resources selected by librarians to help patrons stay safe and protect their privacy online 

Science Daily – ScienceDaily features breaking news about the latest discoveries in science, health, the environment, technology, and more — from leading universities, scientific journals, and research organizations. 

Science Matters – A scientific journal publishing peer-reviewed research from a variety of fields that makes all published content, including raw data, publicly available 

Sci Starter: Their mission is to help bring together the millions of citizen scientists in the world; the thousands of potential projects offered by researchers, organizations, and companies; and the resources, products, and services that enable citizens to pursue and enjoy these activities. 

TED-Ed – Educational lessons built around TED talks