All posts by Marty Mason

Virtual Volunteering! (for Grades 7+)

Hey teens! Do you miss volunteering at the Library? We miss you too!

The COVID-19 pandemic has halted our regular in-person volunteer opportunities, so we are launching a virtual volunteer program in 2021! There is a training for teens (grades 7+) who are interested in virtual volunteering on January 13th at 3:30 pm on Zoom. You can find more information and register on our Library events calendar.

If you’re looking for a one-time volunteer opportunity, register for our January Service Club To Go! We will be zooming together to make blankets for Project Linus. Kits are available for pick up at the Children’s Desk, or you can call and have a kit brought out to the curbside pickup table.

New Story at the Story Walk!

There is a new story at the Story Walk at Sunny Meadow Farm!

Worm Loves Worm is a sweet story about 2 worms who fall in love and decide they want to marry. With a little help from their friends cricket, beetle, spider, and the bees, they find the perfect way to have a wedding that celebrates how very special their love is!

Read each page as you walk along a simple trail at Sunny Meadow Farm!

 

Virtual Events for Tweens & Teens!

We have some fun virtual programs this fall for our tween and teen library users. Check them out!

Girls Who Code Virtual Club (Grades 5+) | Mondays at 3:00 pm beginning September 21st

Open to all girls in grades 5-12. Join us for 10 fun, educational, and empowering sessions where you will learn basic coding skills, share your progress with fellow club members, and help each other create a final project.

 

Virtual Family Game Night (all ages) | Thursdays at 6:30 pm beginning September 17th

Have a competitive family? Missing board games with your friends? Bring your whole family and join us for Family Game Night, where we’ll try something different each week, from Jackbox party games to family trivia!

 

Smash Bros. Ultimate Fall Season (Grades 5+) | Fridays at 3:00 pm beginning September 18th

Social distancing got you down? Got a Nintendo Switch with Nintendo Online? Join us at CPL’s Smash Ultimate arena! Play against your friends and folks from all over the area! All skill levels welcome!

Spooky Story Contest!

It’s that time again – our Annual Spooky Story Contest begins Saturday, September 12th!

We hope all you budding authors in grades K-8 will submit your spookiest, spine-tingling tales to the Children’s Room. One author per story, and authors may submit one story each. Stories may be typed or neatly written, and should be spooky or scary in nature. Stories do not need to be illustrated.

Either drop off your story at the Children’s Desk, or email it to Sara at sdempster@chelmsfordlibrary.org. Winners will be selected from these categories: K-1st grade, 2nd-3rd grade, 4th-5th grade, and middle school. Stories must be submitted by Saturday, October 17 to be eligible to win.

Winners will be celebrated at a special Virtual Library celebration on Saturday, October 24th!

Windows & Mirrors: A diversity book discussion Thursday August 20th

Join alumni from the Chelmsford High School class of 2010 to come together and discuss topics related to diversity! This month, we will be talking about race. This book group is a safe space for our community to discuss how we can make Chelmsford a safer and more welcoming community for all. Registration is not required, but it helps us know how many people to expect at the meeting.

Before you attend, please read all or part of the graphic novel New Kid, by Jerry Craft.

“Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real.” The recommended age range for New Kid is grade 3 and up. You can access New Kid online for free by using your Hoopla account at www.hoopladigital.com!

We will come together for a group discussion, and then we will break into small groups mediated by CHS alumni to talk more about the book. Please plan to attend as a family if you can.

Join us on Zoom:

Meeting ID: 884 1757 7346

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88417577346

Windows and Mirrors: A special diversity-themed Storytime

Please join the Chelmsford Public Library and alumni of the Chelmsford High School class of 2010 on Zoom for a special storytime and discussion on Thursday, August 20th at 11:00 am.

A Librarian will read the story Hair Love by Matthew Cherry (also featured in this season’s Story Walk!), and the group will view a short film based on the book. Then everyone will split into small groups and discuss the story and how it made them feel.

This is a great opportunity to engage young children and families in discussions about race, identity, culture, and family. If you would like to join, we would love to have you!

Join us on Zoom for the story and discussion:

Meeting ID: 832 7736 3830

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83277363830

Books

Teen Book Bundles

Hey Teens!

If you’re looking for new books (and hoping to hatch as many dragon eggs as possible in our Summer Reading Program), you may want to try one of our book bundles! Each bundle contains 3-5 books selected by Youth Services Librarians that fall into a theme or category. Check out the options below:

       

Call and pick up at curbside today!

Book Bundles!

We are so excited to have curbside pickup up and running again, and have a new service available for families – book bundles!

If you know your family needs new books, but aren’t quite sure what to ask for, you can choose daily from our “menu” of book bundles available at curbside pickup. Youth Services librarians have chosen a wide variety of titles from our collection for all age ranges, from babies to teens! You can come to the library and pick up a “grab bag,” or you can choose from a variety of themes or concepts. Each bundle contains 3-5 books, and you can check out more than one bundle at a time.

Keep an eye out for our “menu” of bundles available

Stop by or give us a call to ask about book bundles today!

New story at the Story Walk!

We are so excited to share that there is a new story at the Story Walk at Sunny Meadow Farm! We hope you will visit soon 🙂

Hair Love by Matthew Cherry is a beautiful story of father-daughter love and empowerment.

“Zuri’s hair has a mind of its own. It kinks, coils, and curls every which way. Zuri knows it’s beautiful. When Daddy steps in to style it for an extra special occasion, he has a lot to learn. But he LOVES his Zuri, and he’ll do anything to make her-and her hair-happy. Tender and empowering, Hair Love is an ode to loving your natural hair-and a celebration of daddies and daughters everywhere.”

When you visit, don’t forget to sign our guest book! The only change is that now it’s gone online. When you come to the end of the story, you can use either the QR code or the URL to sign the guest book.

And don’t forget – reading at the Story Walk counts for your Summer Reading :). Be sure to log it on Beanstack!

Summer Reading 2020!

We’re challenging you to read every day this summer–and win rewards for it, too!

To participate in our Summer Reading Challenge, sign yourself or your family up for a free account on our new Summer Reading Challenge website, or download the free Beanstack Tracker app (on the Apple App Store or Google Play) to participate by logging your reading on a mobile device! If you’re using a mobile device, don’t forget to search for Chelmsford Public Library in the app to create an account and access our Summer Reading Challenge.

Dates
The Summer Reading Challenge (for ages 0-18) will run from Wednesday, June 17th – Saturday, September 5. You can log your reading anytime, but be sure to log your reading between these dates, because anything before or after does not count toward earning rewards.

Rules 
Kids from 0-18 (yes, you can even participate by reading to your baby, and there are prizes for you, too!) can earn rewards for every seven days of reading logged in our new Beanstack website or via the free mobile app. “Reading” might mean picking up a book, graphic novel, or magazine, listening to someone read to you (or reading to someone else), attending storytime, or even playing reading or literacy games. Make sure you log days, not minutes for it to count for the challenge. Try to read for at least 15 minutes every day! And check out the special activities you can do for extra rewards on our website, too!

And remember…

Listening counts! No one is too young to participate in Summer Reading! Caregivers can record the time spent reading to children. If one child reads to another child, the time counts for both. Listening to audio books counts as well.

Read what you enjoy! Chelmsford Public Schools have no required books for children entering grades K-4. You can read anything you want, including books, magazines, comics, and graphic novels.

Rewards 
For every seven days of reading you log, you’ll earn a digital badge and you’ll be able to choose a (real) pinback button from our digital “menu” that you can come pick up via our curbside pickup service. You’ll also earn a digital ticket for the Grand Prize Drawing that you can spend on the website. One winner for each grand prize will be drawn on Monday, September 7.

If you have any questions, please call us at 978-256-5521 and press to speak with a Youth Services staff person. We are happy to help!